wait… it’s almost thanksgiving?

Wow. So somehow I went MIA for like three weeks. oops! School and life have been literally insane, but I have successfully survived thus far so I think we’ll be okay. I’ve completed the majority of my huge assignments and I think I can breathe now…until finals week. But honestly my plan is just to cross that bridge when it gets here and it’s not here yet. So… I do have some recipes and posts planned but for now I’ll just do a quick recap of the past 3 weeks.

1. Clinicals

I’ve been working with the clinical dietitians at a hospital for the past 3 weeks, and it’s really been an awesome experience. All of the RD’s are super great, and they’ve given me a ton of independence…which is scary but necessary for me to grow. So I’m very appreciative. I’ve always said that I know clinical isn’t my thing…and I still kind of hold to that. But I’ve been able to spend a lot of time in the ICU focusing predominantly on nutrition support (TF and TPN), and I’ve been pleasantly surprised by how much I like it. I think I feel like it’s challenging, and I like the complicated patients and feeling like I’m actually making a difference in their outcome. Without nutrition support, they 100% would not get better. So…that being said, I still can’t see myself loving the work of just a clinical dietitian…but I could see myself enjoying predominant work in nutrition support or in a burn unit. (lets be real though…at this point just any job that pays would be ideal)chronicles of an almost rd

2. Nashville

I was able to take a long weekend and drive up to Nashville to hang out with some of my best friends. We’ve been friends since 6th grade, and don’t get to see each other all that much…so this weekend was FAB. It was filled with lots of coffee, awesome fall weather, the new T Swift album, spending way too much money on food, outrageous amount of visits to Anthropologie, and lots of laughs. And it was a much needed break from reality this semester.chronicles of an almost rdchronicles of an almost rdchronicles of an almost rd

3. New Book!

I started reading a new book, “French Women Don’t Get Fat” by Mireille Guiliano, and it rocks. It’s main message is fchronicles of an almost rdocusing on eating for pleasure and I seriously love it. It’s inspired a lot of upcoming posts so keep an eye out.

I’m sure theres more… but not really because I’ve spent most of my time studying and not sleeping and working 35+ hours a week so I won’t bore y’all.     Have a Happy Thanksgiving and I promise I won’t go MIA again.

-Leah

3 thoughts on “wait… it’s almost thanksgiving?

  1. I love the French Women books–reading French Women Don’t Get Fat in my diet days was what lead me to read In Defense of Food and Real Food (Nina Planck) and those got me to where I am today 🙂 I also recommend the sister book, French Women For All Seasons.
    Nutrition support does sound/look really interesting–sometimes the dietitian I volunteer with takes me to the ICU and explains how it works and why they use various formulas. I’m definitely loving the preventative care stuff, though 🙂
    It’s great to hear what you are up to!

  2. Pingback: book review – il faut des rites | chronicles of an almost RD

Leave a comment